< Back To News

Joint letter from pro-Remain parties to Donald Tusk, outlining support for the Brexit backstop

Alliance MLAs are among those who have signed a letter to European Council President Donald Tusk, outlining the majority support here for the proposed Brexit backstop.

Dear Mr Tusk,


The proposed date of the UK’s withdrawal from the European Union, 31 October, is fast approaching.


As leaders of local political parties who represent the cross-community majority who voted to remain in the EU we have grave concerns about the current trajectory toward a no-deal Brexit and the impact this would have on our economy, our border and community cohesion.


An analysis carried out by the Northern Ireland Civil Service has predicted job losses in the region of 40,000 if we’re forced from the EU without a deal. The British government’s own analysis has predicted significant disruption to integrated supply chains across this island rendering cross-border trade in our agri-food sector virtually impossible for many operators. It has also warned that the open border that has underpinned our political settlement would be unsustainable within months.


It is our view that the progress made in developing integrated and enduring relationships on this island, politically, economically and socially, over the last 20 years is far too important to abandon. Particularly at a moment when those relationships are being tested.


With that in mind, and with no functioning Executive or Assembly currently in place in Northern Ireland to give expression to the democratic wishes of people here, we write to you to confirm our support for the backstop contained within the Withdrawal Agreement and Political Declaration. It is our view that a legally operable guarantee to protect the Good Friday Agreement, maintain north-south co-operation and preserve the all-island economy and to prevent a return to physical infrastructure on our border or physical checks at or near the border is necessary to preserve the progress that we have made.


We trust that the approach adopted by the European Institutions to defend all that we have achieved will continue in the weeks ahead.





Michelle O’Neill MLA, Assembly Leader and Vice President of Sinn Féin

Colum Eastwood MLA, Leader of the Social Democratic and Labour Party

Naomi Long MEP, Leader of the Alliance Party

Clare Bailey MLA, Leader of the Green Party



Chris Lyttle MLA                John Dallat MLA                Máirtín Ó Muilleoir MLA

Máire Hendron MLA        Órlaithí Flynn MLA            Seán Lynch MLA

Gerry Kelly MLA                 Alex Maskey MLA             Jemma Dolan MLA

Nichola Mallon MLA        Fra McCann MLA              Colm Gildernew MLA

Carál Ní Chuilín MLA        Pat Sheehan MLA             Mark H Durkan MLA

Paula Bradshaw MLA      Stewart Dickson MLA      Raymond McCartney MLA

Claire Hanna MLA             Karen Mullan MLA            Caoimhe Archibald MLA

Pat Catney MLA                 Conor Murphy MLA         Emma Rogan MLA

Trevor Lunn MLA              Philip McGuigan MLA      Colin McGrath MLA

Linda Dillon MLA               Steven Agnew MLA          Kellie Armstrong MLA

Emma Sheerin MLA         Stephen Farry MLA          Dolores Kelly MLA

Patsy McGlone MLA        John Blair MLA                   John O’Dowd MLA

Cathal Boylan MLA           Declan Kearney MLA       Maolíosa McHugh MLA

Megan Fearon MLA         Sinéad Bradley MLA         Catherine Kelly MLA

Justin McNulty MLA         Sinéad Ennis MLA             Declan McAleer MLA

Daniel McCrossan MLA